Ever wanted to explore what once was Washington’s fourth largest military post?
The public is invited to see inside many of the buildings at Seattle Pacific University’s Camp Casey Conference Center on Friday, June 17, 12-4 p.m. Visitors will get a rare chance to have historians lead them on guided tours of the Colonel’s House and enjoy a talk by an SPU history professor on the origin of seacoast forts. The house is primarily utilized for retreat space for SPU leadership and for special groups.
Tours of the Colonel’s House will begin at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. Also included are tours of the various barracks and mess hall. Guests can get a glimpse of the Sea Lab with Camp Casey naturalists. There will also be free admission to the outdoor pool as well as complimentary snacks.
SPU Professor of History Bill Woodward will give a lecture titled “ Fort Casey: Doing Homeland Defense the Old-Fashioned Way, ” at 2 p.m. in Auditorium A.
Tours of Fort Casey State Park and the Admiralty Head Lighthouse, adjacent to Camp Casey and owned by Washington State Parks, are scheduled at 1 p.m. and 2 p.m respectively.
Camp Casey, formerly known as “Fort Casey,” opened in 1890 by the U.S. military. Fort Casey along with Fort Worden and Fort Flagler became part of what was known as the “triangle of fire,” created to protect the entrance of Puget Sound. Over the course of 20 years, Fort Casey became the fourth largest military post in Washington State until its decommissioning in the 1950s. SPU purchased the property in 1956 and hosts various churches, schools, nonprofit organizations, and outdoor education classes.
For more information call 866-661-6604.